Game 《遊戲》


This item is available only on rental. Please contact us for details.

Category: Tag:


Composer: 陳錦標 Joshua CHAN
Work Title: Game 《遊戲》 (huqin quartet)
Instrumentation: huqin quartet
Year Composed: 1982
Year of Premiere: 1983
Premiere Country: Hong Kong
Premiere Information: members of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra
Duration: 6’22”
Remarks: First Prize, the 2nd Hong Kong Young Music Makers’ Award, 1983

Programme Notes

This piece is written for the Chinese huqin quartet: gao-hu, er-hu, zhong-hu and ge-hu (which is also playable on ruan quartet). In both textural and harmonic organization, this piece is modeled according to certain principles found in Western classical quartets, while in melodic perception a strong flavour of Chinese lyricism and formality. A large scale three-part form is used in which the middle section is almost identical to a fugue: having all four parts carrying the pentatonic subject from place to place. For such kind of ensemble texture, the four performers can be regarded as playing an interactive musical game from which the title of this piece is derived.