This item is available only on rental. Please contact us for details.

SKU: ATM00096 Category: Tag: ISBN: 979-0-69781-059-4.


Composer: 黃學揚 Alfred WONG
Work Title: Echoes《迴》(Chinese orchestra and mallet percussion quartet obbligato)
Solo Instruments: mallet percussion quartet obbligato
Instrumentation: o330/220/220(1)/01/
Year Composed: 2006
Year of Premiere: 2006.11.24
Premiere Country: Singapore
Premiere Information: Singapore Chinese Orchestra / Tsung Yeh
Duration: 8′

Programme Notes

The music begins with a turbulent energetic ostinato, characterized by shifting accents and a jazzy walking bass. As the title suggest, the works aims to present the echoes of music generated by placing different material blocks and instrumental groups in antiphony. The melodic figuration and harmony are originated from the scale 1-3-4-5-7 used in Balinese Gamelan (a common Indonesian percussion ensemble) music. One unusual acoustic feature is the insertion of keyboard percussion group which is configured after a gamelan section ensemble, a refreshing orchestral sound is resulted. The work entered the finals in the International Competition for Chinese Orchestral Composition 2006 organized by the Singapore Chinese Orchestra, conducted by Tsung Yeh.