Deep Within My Soul


This item is available only on rental. Please contact us for details.

Category: Tag:



Composer: 陳錦標 Joshua CHAN
Work Title: Deep Within My Soul (piano trio)
Subtitle: 《我靈深處》
Instrumentation: violin, clarinet and piano
Year Composed: 1991
Year of Premiere: 1991.03.14
Premiere Country: Hong Kong
Premiere Information: Mary Yang, Eric Man and Wilson Mak
Duration: 6′

Programme Notes

The original version of Deep Within My Soul, scored for violin, clarinet and piano, was specifically written and performed as part of the worship during the Sunday service held at the Chinese Presbyterian Church, Sydney on July 13, 1986. The piece is about how people are spiritually strengthened by their Christian faith. The present version of 1991 is a moderate extension of the original with the cello substituting the clarinet. Unlike the classical piano trios which usually highlight the piano, the melodies of this piece are mostly carried by the strings while the role of the piano is more like the accompaniment. Deep Within My Soul is written in a very perceptual, emotional way. Its style may be described as being the combination of Baroque, Romantic and Pop.