This item is available only on rental. Please contact us for details.

SKU: ATM00092 Category: Tag: ISBN: 979-0-69781-034-1.


Composer: 黃學揚 Alfred WONG
Work Title: Cicada《蟬》(sheng solo)
Original Composer: Alfred WONG
Instrumentation: Sheng Solo
Year Composed: 2009
Year of Premiere: 2009.05.22
Premiere Country: Hong Kong
Premiere Information: Pang Hong-tai (sheng)
Duration: 6′

Programme Notes

Cicada Commissioned by Sheng soloist Pang Hong-tai in 2009, Cicada is a solo piece for 36-reed keyed sheng, a Chinese mouth-organ consisting essentially of vertical pipes. Cicadas are among the most widely recognized of all insects, mainly due to their large size and remarkable acoustic talents. The piece casts in 4 segments, namely 1. Humor of Cicada, 2. Spiritual Drink, 3. Cast off the Shell and 4. Summer Chirps.